While They Were Sleeping- Vegtable Garden

Today I wanted to share our vegtable garden with you. I am so proud of our garden because this is the first year where everything we’ve planted has stayed green! lol Seriously, aside from kids I struggle with keeping things alive. I’ve killed many a poor cacti in the past!

Last year I put together my own planter boxes using some 2″x4″‘s and screws. They were super simple and when I finished them I had the littles paint them for me.

IMG_6202

I really love my planter boxes and I think they’re even cuter now that they’re weathered a little. I feel like it gives then theis really fun rustic look. First (and hardest) thing to do was to move my planter boxes. Last year we had them separated, and this time I decided I wanted them together so that I could have a little “garden area”. As you can see though my planter boxes have no bottoms, so it took a lot of effort to move them. Totally worth it though! After moving the boxes the littles and I ventured off to the local nursery.

IMG_0251

We walked out with a trunk full of goodies! I love that the littles are excited about gardening and picked plants based on how beautiful they were. This year we are planting, zucchini, roma tomatoes, corn, grape tomatoes, artichoke, asparagus, strawberries, broccoli, sweet bell peppers, serrano peppers, and lemon cucumbers. Lots and lots of good, yummy eats!!

I also got a few flowers… That are now dead. Can’t win on every front I guess. LOL

IMG_0338

So, so pretty!! I’m loving my little garden area. It’s been a little over a month since we’ve put everything in the box and it is thriving!! Someone had told me that part of the secret to a successful garden in our area is to wait until late april to put eveything in the ground, and it must be the right! We’ve done so well and got so excited about our flourishing garden that we made a second trip to the nursery and added a pomegranate and clementine tree to our little garden.

IMG_1077

Have you planted a graden this year? If so, what did you plant? How is it going? Leave a comment below and tell my all aobut your gardening adventures.

Leave a Reply

