While They Were Sleeping – Baby’s Armoire

I’ve decided to start a new segment here on my blog titled “While They Were Sleeping”. This is where I will share the many (many, many) projects that I work on during nap time for the littles. Sometimes these projects range from bigger type projects that take a few days, or more, to smaller “organize my life” type things. In an effort to keep myself on a schedule I will be posting this on Wednesdays; so technically speaking it will be “While They Were Sleeping Wednesdays”. Are you excited?!? I know I am! Today I bring to you the first ever “While They Were Sleeping” blog post πŸ™‚

While I was pregnant with Little E I saw a pin in Pinterest where an old armoire had been transformed into a cute little baby closet and thought, “That’s for me!”. Space is limited in our tiny, er cozy house. Especially storage space so there wasn’t a whole room or closet even that I could devote to Little E, and it just so happened that I had an old armoire out in the garage. After some time (but before little E was here) I managed to move the armoire in to my bedroom. I had to ditch one of our night stands to make space for it, btw. That’s as far as I got. Seriously! At first it was fine bacause she didn’t have many things and I wasn’t feeling the whole “I’m going to make over this armoire” thing. So, it sat there. By my bed. Holding things. Just a few things. Then more things. Then too many things. And it looked like this. 

  

See her New Years dress? Cute, right? πŸ™‚ other than that there’s nothing cute about this picture. Nothing. And I have to walk past this 500 times a day, so it’s been driving me a bit crazy and I’m (finally) ready to do something about it. 

I made a quick, my version of quick lol, trip to Lowes and grabbed an adjustable rod. I think I paid like $6 or something for it. Then waited for nap time. 

It was really easy to put the rod in there. It came with screws, but since I was putting it in an armoire and didn’t want the screw to come through the other side I had to dig through my tool box and grab some shorter screws. Also because I’m a perfectionist I took my time measuring it centered in the armoire and leveling it out. Which was all worth it of course, bacause now I don’t have to look at chaos and I can actually see Little E’s clothes when I go to get her dressed. 

  

Now that it’s organized and semi-nice I felt like jazzing up the top of the dresser by removing her out grown clothes and adding her “E” that friends and family wrote on for her baby shower. Eventually I will repaint the armoir. Brown is no longer to my liking. What was I thinking?? But that’s a project for another nap time. 

  
I hope you’re all having a wonderful Wednesday; and if you’re not, it’s Wednesday. You’re almost there! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

