First Day of School

Where did the last few weeks of summer go!? Seriously, I went to bed last night thinking, “I’ve got a few weeks to get everything ready for school.”. Then… BAM!! It’s time to shower, eat breakfast, brush our teeth, get in the car and “Don’t forget your lunch!” (Which we totally did, by the way! LOL).

This year I have two Littles in school. Little D will be in 6th grade and is officially one of “the big kids” on campus. I get a little choked up thinking this is her last year in elementary school.

IMG_2542

Little A is in Kindergarten this year. “Real, real Kindergarten” as he likes to say. I am so relieved that we were assigned a teacher I would have chosen given the option. I’m really looking forward to a fun and exciting year with Little A. They learn and grow so much in the next couple of school years!

IMG_2556

Ok, so because I seriously waited until the last-minute, I was up all last night making back to school goodie bags. Originally I considered making some just for Little A’s class (more shameless advertising), but to my surprise Little D requested a set of her own for her class. Then as I was putting my bags together I thought, “Wouldn’t it be nice if I made some for the office ladies as well?”. So I made those too! LOL That means I stayed up into the wee hours of the morning making 64 goodie bags!!

IMG_7276

I made these fun colorful bags for A’s kinder class. The toppers were cut at 4.25″x5.5″ and folded in half. My patterned polka dot paper is from DCWV Summer Stack cut at 4″x2.5″. I used a 2″ punch for the green circle and the Cricut cut the yellow circle at 1.5″ from Accent Essentials cartridge. The “Hello” stamp is from an old stamp set (can’t remember the name, but it’s old. Like time to quit that stamp set and replace it because it was also inexpensive. Know what I mean?). I used a Stampin Up! stamping spot in Cucumber Crush to ink up my sentiment. Finally, I used dimensionals to adhere the circle to the bag topper.

IMG_7275

These were made with the idea of doing something “basic” and “a little more grown up”. After all, we’re 6th graders now! LOL Everything was cut at the same dimensions, and “Hello” was stamped using My Pink Stamper’s “Darkest Night” Ink. A white grosgrain ribbon was used to add a little somethin-somethin.

IMG_7279

This last set was the simplest to make. Same dimension for the topper and “base”. The patterned paper is also from DCWV Summer Stack. I used a yellow grosgrain ribbon with little white dot accents and stamped “Have a munch-tastic day!” from My Pink Stamper’s “Lunch Box Thoughts” stamp set. I also used My Pink Stamper’s “Darkest Night” Ink pad on these goodie bags.

IMG_7280

Side note: Sorry for the photo quality! I took all the pictures of the goodie bags on my phone, and I desperately need a new phone…Some day! LOL

I am so glad to have kids back in school. I love having some time to relax and play with them, but as summer drew to a close I think we were all ready for a change. I’m looking forward to our new routine and schedule. I’m also feeling really blessed to have things work out in a way that’s going to allow for a little time to spend one-on-one with J and Little Ellie throughout the week.

We hit a few snags this morning with making sure we were ready to get out the door… like forgetting our lunches. LOL I have a few ideas to help make our mornings easy-peasy-lemon-squeesy though! I’ll be back to share more about that later.

I hope you all are having a wonderful day, and for those of you who had to get up early and get your littles to school today too:

WAY TO GO!! YOU DID IT, AND IT WAS AWESOME!!!

…Now, treat yourself to some Starbucks and don’t forget about pick-up 😉 LOL

Leave a Reply

