Christmas Gifts (Continued)

Well, Merry Christmas!! I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas. Our Christmas here was awesome! Super relaxing and lots of fun for the kiddos. As promised here is another post showing you more of the gifts that I made this year.

IMG_1455

Fist up, is a blanket I made for my nephew. I saw this blanket on interest, and you can find it HERE. It worked up really quickly, and I love how thick it came out to be. I used another baby blanket I had on hand for measurements, and ended up using a little less than 1 BIG skein of each color for the finished product.

IMG_1454

Pretty colors, right? I coordinated them to match his nursery 🙂

IMG_1453

Next we made a cute apron for our “Official Cake Maker”. One of my husband’s aunts makes all of our kids’ birthday cakes (and she does an amazing job!), so naturally our children refer to her as the “cake maker”. I thought it would be cute to make an official cake maker apron and gift it in a cake themed bag.

IMG_1528

I bought a plain white apron from JoAnne’s and used fabric markers to write on the apron. To make sure everything was lined up and pretty I printed out what I wanted my wording to look like and set it behind the apron so that I could just trace everything out.  Much easier this way!

IMG_1536

When I was all done tracing I had each child leave a cute little hand print on the apron with some black fabric paint. This part didn’t work out as well as I had imagined, so I had to dabble a little more paint over each of their handprints.

IMG_1552

Using a handy-dandy cello bag and some festive ribbon I put all my cake themed goodies and apron together. Pretty isn’t it? 🙂

For this next gift I did not take many pics (and the two I did take aren’t that great, so I apologize).

I made a cookie jar for my mother in law. Well, not really. I BOUGHT a cookie jar from Target and used some sharpie oil based markers to write “grandma’s sweet treats” on it. Again, I “cheated” and printed out what I wanted from the computer so that I could trace it. To properly trace through glass line the paper up on the inside and tape your image in place.

IMG_5699

Because I wanted to make this gift a little more personal I filled the jar with baking goodies (whisk, measuring cups, cookies mix) and had each child decorate some white dish cloths I bought from JoAnne’s. To give the dish cloths a more finished look I crocheted a cute little edge onto them.

IMG_1542

What do you think?? I have one more gift that I made, but I’ve decided to dedicate an entire post to that one. Hopefully I will get it posted by the end of the week. Until then, I would love to hear about the gifts you made this year!

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and are making plans for a great new year!

Leave a Reply

