My Favorite Baby Blanket

I have a new nephew coming!! I am so absolutely thrilled! As soon as my sister-in-law told me all I could think about was the cute things this little needs me to make for him.

One of my favorite things from when my boys were babies were these blankets a friend of mine had made for them. They were made of snuggle flannel and had adorable crocheted edging on them. I absolutely loved them! They were so perfect, I just knew this was something I had to make for my little nephew.

After choosing my fabric print I came home and washed it. I’ve learned the hard way that this is VERY important! I’ve been so heartbroken after spending so much time on something only to have it come out of the dryer all wonky.

I laid out my fabric and measured a perfect square of 36″x36″. Then I folded over the raw edge using some pins to hold everything in place. I sewed down one side and the direct opposite side first. Then I repeated the pinning and sewing process on the other sides.

IMG_4368

I then used Bernat Crochet Thread in Fresh Fern to do a blanket stitch along the edges. I’m no expert, and have little to no patience, so I just eyeballed my blanket stitch.

Using my mad pinteresting skills I found THIS awesome link on how to add pretty crochet edging. I followed the directions on the awesomely written how-to for the most part. The only thing I did differently was every once in a while I only put 2 single crochets in between the blanket stitches. That’s only because I “eyeballed” it, so there wasn’t always enough space for 3 single crochets.

IMG_4422

Looking good! I grew a little impatient with the crochet thread because I’ve never worked with it before, and it seems like it took FOR.EVER. for it to work up. I don’t know if that makes sense to you, but with regular worsted weight yarn things work up faster and it’s easier to envision an “end”. I’m really glad I stuck with it though, because the finished product is absolutely adorable!

IMG_4420

A cautionary note: Hand stitching requires attention, patience, and  coordination. If you are attempting to do this while littles run around yelling and being a nuisance playing and you watch a movie then you best be confident in your coordination talents. If you’re a girl like me who is not known for such talents, then please PAY ATTENTION to what you are doing, or you may just end up with a severed a limb!!…. Ok, maybe I’m being a bit dramatic. One can be injured during this process though. That’s a true story.

IMG_4417

After having survived my injury applied a band-aid, I felt inspired to make the minky blanket. So, I did!

IMG_4391

Do you have a favorite baby item that you’ve either made yourself or had made for you? If so, please leave a comment and share!

Leave a Reply

