The Comfort Station

Today I’m showing you my hall bathroom. For obvious reasons, it is the bathroom that everyone uses; but as a family we generally prefer the master bathroom. That is why this bathroom has never been high on my list of priorities. Actually, a while back…. A long while back… I started doing a little “makeover” in there, but it didn’t ever actually get completed.

Key changes in this room were:

  • THE PAINT

The bathroom was actually two different colors at the time of our fire damage, so changing that was definitely key. The great part about this meant that the painter’s tape I’d put up was going to disappear!

  • THE MIRROR

I’m not a fan of builder grade mirrors. (Honestly, who is?) I definitely wanted to change the mirror situation.

  • GENERAL DECOR

Maybe what I mean to say here is that the general lack of decor needed to be addressed? Yes, that is definitely what I mean.

IMG_0573

See? Nothing fancy. I wasn’t kidding when I said this bathroom had only the essentials, either. That’s not even a real shower curtain, it’s just a shower liner! LOL That painter’s tape sure is a nice pop of color, right? 😉

IMG_0572

In a world where I have unlimited funds I would have liked to change the vanity, but I keep finding myself here in reality….

IMG_0874

Not long after the Hubby and I started living together we went on vacation to Pismo Beach and bought a wall hanging with the intention of using it to decorate “our” place. Alas, that did not come to complete fruition and the wall hanging was buried in the garage put safely away waiting for it’s moment of glory. THAT, ladies and gentlemen, is the wall hanging that has inspired the “theme” of my hall bathroom.

IMG_0872

A real shower curtain on fancy shower hooks!! I found this curtain at Anna’s Linens, and knew as soon as I saw it that it would be perfect for my Ocean/Pismo Beach theme. The paint color is the same color as the living room in a semi-gloss finish, and gone is the painter’s tape. I know you can’t tell in this picture, but it really is gone 🙂

IMG_0871

The mirror that we went with was actually another piece buried in the garage put safely away waiting for it’s moment of glory. I was excited that it fit so perfectly in this space, and happy to be able to save a little more cash-ola. I’d like to put some shelves in the empty wall space and add more decor to this space than just my basket of toilet paper.

Side note: Evidently I am a HUGE collector of random baskets!! As I’m unpacking all of our belongings and getting back into our house I am overwhelmed by the various-ness, and sheer number of baskets I’ve collected. I’m like a crazy basket lady!

Leave a Reply

