Crochet Blanket Number One

I made a blanket!!

IMG_0256

I’m so excited…. And I just can’t hide it… I’m about to lose control and I think I like it… LOL I honestly can’t say “I’m so excited” without the rest of that going through my head!

I really am excited! I made a blanket AGES AGO, and it was a disaster. Thank you, old roomie, for being supportive and saying it looked great šŸ˜‰ If I still had that blanket around I would take pictures of it to show you how far I’ve come. I have no proof though, so you’ll just have to trust me when I say I’ve come a long way.

Every year I struggle with Christmas gift giving. True story! I think we all want to be the ones to give that one gift. You know, that special gift that made Christmas memorable? Yeah, that one. Aside from that though, I believe that gifts should be meaningful. I love giving something that’s special. Something that gives warm fuzzy feelings and thoughts of “this is just for me”. Because I’m a huge procrastinator by natureĀ so thoughtful in my gift giving, I decided that this year I was going to start my Christmas planning early.

I’ve beenĀ looking for gift ideas and found this little gem on pinterest.

1ac75aa2f6e063274bc17e13002d6039

Isn’t it gorgeous!?? I knew this was what I wanted go give for Christmas this year as soon as I saw it, but I also knew what my last attempt at blanket making looked like. So I decided I needed to make a “test blanket”. I immediately loved the “Tinkerbell inspired” look of the blanket, and I just so happen I have a Tinkerbell lover in my inner circle; so it was only natural that I head to Wally World (a.k.a. Wal-Mart) and pick myself up some Red Heart yarn in spring green, soft white, and orchid.

Now, I’m not gonna lie. This took me a LONG time! Granted I did not devote every spare moment to it, but it’s been a while. Like a couple of months kind of while; but I persisted, followed directions and the end result was perfect!

IMG_0265

Christmas blankets, here I come!! Have you started planning your Christmas gifts yet?? Or am I the only crazy prepared one who makes blankets and thinks about Christmas in the middle of summer?

Leave a Reply

