Chicken Pot Pie Cupcakes

Hey there bloggy friends!

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, but life has been busy here in Casa Medeiros. As you know, we’ve embarked on home schooling this year. Although we are enjoying many aspects of it, it certainly makes for a busy (and often, long) day. Hubby and I continue to work full-time, and then there’s the every day chaos of 3 children. Being a working and home schooling mom doesn’t leave time for crafting (boo!) or much else.

One thing I always have time for though, is cooking!… Maybe I don’t really have the time, but alas, the people in this family demand it! lol… That being said I’ve discovered that the key to feeding a family of 5 on time constrains is all in the google-ing planning and preparation.

My hubby is a big fan of pot pies, and anything Dad loves the kids love. (Thankfully dad is a good healthy eater! So I’m blesses with children who love brussels sprouts.) One of the things Hubby Man loves the most is Chicken Pot Pies. Me?… Not so much. In fact, I HATED my first chicken pot pie! Over the years though (and because I’m an awesome wife) I’ve dabbled a bit in the occasional pot pie recipe. Although we’ve had a few good ones, and a lot not so good ones. I’d yet to find one that was yummy AND didn’t involve chopping fresh ingredients and baking for an hour.

When The Man of the House asked for pot pie this week I moaned out loud. Loud enough for the husband to hear and wonder what I was whining about, so I confessed. You know what he said? “You’re a great cook, and you’ve made lots of pot pies. I bet you  could make your own recipe.” Isn’t he just the sweetest!??

I’ve never “made my own recipe” before. As a matter of fact, I don’t think I’m a great cook at all! I know and like recipes. You know, those little things that tell you exactly what to use and how to do it? “No deviating, no mistakes” has always been my cooking mantra. True story!

I looked through all my pot pie recipes, choose the ones I like the most, looked to see what they each had in common. Then I looked at what I had like about one recipe and compared it to what I liked in another…. Etc, etc. (You don’t need all the details, right?) After a lot of some trial and error of mish-mash recipes I’ve come up with this:

Chicken Pot Pie Cupcakes

Chicken Pot Pie Cupcakes

  • 2-3 diced cooked chicken breasts
  • 1 can ceam of chicken soup
  • 1 cup frozen mixed veggies
  • 1/2 Tablespoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 Tablespoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt
  • Bisquick
  • Milk (for the bisquick)

Pre-heat oven to 400°.

In a bowl, combine chicken, cream of chicken soup, frozen veggies, herbs and spices.

In another bowl, prepare Bisquick according to package directions for “biscuits or dumplings”.

Grease TWO 12-cup muffin tin and place Bisquick Mix in each cup. Just enough to make a bowl shape.

Spoon pot pie mixture into each Bisquick cup.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, until Bixquick is lightly browned on outer edges.

We like to serve them with some mashed potatoes, and they’re absolutely delicious! Perfect for the beautiful fall day we had today, and exactly what the kids needed to fill their bellies after the pumpkin patch. Speaking of, here’s my favorite picture from today’s fun.

IMG_20131017_200644

Leave a Reply

