New Adventures

Today we embarked on a new journey…. Home schooling!

Let me start by saying this, home schooling is not something I ever thought I’d be doing! I love my children dearly, but I always look forward to free childcare their time in school. I know several people who have chosen to home school, and their children are perfectly normal, well socialized, and intelligent children. Therefore, I don’t have any of those stereotypical views regarding homeschooling. However, it’s just not something that I ever thought I’d chose for myself or my children.

Several things led to us making the decision to home school this year. At first it was not a decision we were really sure of, but after learning more about the advantages of home schooling (and how they can better serve our daughter and family) and meeting with the teacher who would be helping us throughout the year we are confident and excited about our new adventure.

 

Since today was our first official day I wanted to make a little card for our new teacher. I (literally) dusted off the cricut and mad a cute little card for her.

IMG_1013

Can I share a secret with you?? You can’t tell my husband especially, ok? LOL I bought another paper stack!… I know, I know!! I don’t need any more paper, and I really should start putting a dent in what I already own, but the new DCWV Homeroom stack was too fun to pass up. Besides, it was perfect for our card 🙂

My card measures 5″x7″ and is set on black card stock. The school bus is mounted using dimensionals, and cut from Doodlecharms cart at approx. 5 1/4″. The blue strip is about 2″ cut from regular blue card stock. My stamped sentiment comes from TCP Greeting clear stamp set, stamped with black ink.

I love starting the new year out on a good note, and cards are always such a great personal touch. In years past, I’ve started out the year with a card on the first day of school and a “You survived week 1” gift basket (usually filled with weekend relaxation type items). I also follow Robyn (from my pink stamper) and she does adorable back to school treats for the class (you can check out this years treats HERE). She always has the cutest ideas and such a great source of inspiration! Do you ever do anything fun for the class or teacher when starting a new year? I’d love to hear about your gifts/baskets/treats/traditions.

Here’s to a happy academic 2013/2014 school year!

 

Leave a Reply

