Gift Box/Bag Makeover

Hi guys! I know it’s been a LONG time since I’ve been on here, but I’m back! My kids are back in school (HOORAY!!), and hopefully that means a little more time for blogging. Even though I haven’t been on here you guys have been on my mind and I took tons of pictures of things we did/created over the summer. I can’t wait to edit the photos, write the posts, and share with you all!

Today I want to share with you guys how to spruce up a plain (or in this case, out of season) gift box/bag.

FIrst you have to start with your gift box/bag. This is a necklace and earring set I picked up on clearance AFTER Christmas at Wal-Mart. I love getting these, because not only are they super cheap inexpensive (especially on clearance), but also what little girl (or woman for that matter) doesn’t want new jewelry? TRUST ME. Jewelry is ALWAYS appropriate! lol Downside to this awesome gift is the holiday print that comes on the boxes. Can’t go giving jewelry in Christmas themed boxes for birthdays! Know what I mean?

Next, I go through my stacks of paper and pick whatever is appropriate for my gift. I can’t remember where this paper came from, but it’s probably a DCWV paper because that’s really all I use. Every now and then I go to my local scrapbooking store and get some single pages, but that’s only when I have a particular theme or color I need and don’t have…. Which, isn’t often enough! (I bet my husband is grateful for that though 😉 )

I didn’t take a picture of the “during” process of this step, but I simply set the box down on my paper (which was upside down) and measured it out so that I would have enough allowance for the paper to be folded around the lid and along the inside. After having my square, I used my ATG gun to hold the paper to the box and cut squares out along the corners (Hope you understand what I mean! Sorry I don’t have a pic.) Then folded the paper over and covered up all that christmas green.

IMG_0967

Final step is to embellish your box for some extra Fancy-ness! I used some cuts from Cricut cart Accent Essentials and used some bling for the center of my flower.

IMG_0972

Here are a few bags I’ve decorated as well. Both of these happen to be bags I’ve used for my kids’ party bags, but you could really decorate them for any ocassion.

DSC03403

IMG_4168

You can really get as fancy or as simple as you want. In the past I’ve even used photo corners to attach a card I’ve made to the front. This definitely saves on the cost of gift bags/boxes! Every time I feel lazy pressed for time I try to convince myself to just pick up a gift bag, but the price always gets me…. I mean really! It’s a bag!! LOL

As a crafter, what gift giving tips/tricks do you use? I’d love to hear them 🙂

2 thoughts on “Gift Box/Bag Makeover

Leave a Reply

