Snazzy Photo Frames

One of the biggest changes in our home recently is Dezerai’s leaving. For many, many reasons it was decided that living with her Dad may be the best for her  at this time. We miss her so much around these parts, and she is ALWAYS on our hearts and minds. We call her every night, Skype when we can and are trying hard to stay a part of her everyday life despite the distance between us now. As a mom, I have to admit this is probably the hardest thing I’ve ever gone through!! I don’t know how people do it :(. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Another form of communication and involvement available to us is the USPS! Yep, It’s been tried and true for many generations now, and a great way to send surprises. For the last week or so we have been working on filling a standard rate box with things she needs, wants or simply make us think of her.

One of the things I wanted to send her were pictures. I think I’ve shared before my love of photos, no matter how “every day” the activities may seem. I feel like she’s missing out on so much of our lives now, regardless of the constant communication (and we’re missing out on hers!). So I went through my photos and printed a bunch that will help her “see” what’s going on in our lives. (I just need to train her to do the same for me. LOL)

After printing all my pics I decided that some of them should be framed (and maybe placed on her new dresser?). I looked about here and there and saw many, many frames that I loved. Then I remembered why I don’t even have frames around my own house. The pretty ones (at least the ones I like) as so dang expensive! I wasn’t going to let that stop me though, so my little brain got to thinking and I realized that all the frames I loved had bling on them. Guess what?? You can buy bags of bling at JoAnn’s! Armed with a 50% off coupon I bought myself a bag of bling and headed to the dollar store for frames. There wasn’t a big selection at the dollar store near me, so I headed to Target (because I love Target!) to see what they had to offer. Target frames weren’t $1; but I was willing to spend $2 a frame, so I picked up a couple of those. Here’s a pic of the supplies needed for this project:

Snazzy Photo Frames Supplies

First thing to do was sort through my bag of gems. Boy, was there a lot of gems! lol After sorting my gems and laying out my patterns I got to attaching my gems with my hot glue gun. This step is very important, unless you’re not using a pattern for your gems! I had to change my design several times as the gems in the bag were varied and there was no rhyme or reason as to what was in there. For the most part gluing the gems on was fairly easy. I will say this though. Getting the right amount of glue was tricky, since I didn’t want glue sticking out of the edges of my gems. To solve this I used a toothpick to scrape off excess glue. However, black frames leave evidence of scrapes, so by no means are they perfect! I’m still happy with them though, and here are my results (frame by frame):

IMG_0119

IMG_0116

IMG_0112

IMG_0114

Not too shabby, eh?? I’m not sure why I never thought of this before! I think I may have to make more for the house. Due to my resistance in paying for expensive frames we unfortunately don’t have many pictures around the house 😦 The next time I go frame hunting I may start at my local goodwill, too.

Have you ever refurbished a frame? How do you keep from spending so much money on such a “small” item?? I’d love to hear from you!

Here’s a final shot of all the frames with their proper pictures placed inside:

Snazzy Photo Frames

Leave a Reply

