St. Patrick’s Day

I’m posting this a few days late, but tis better late than never, eh? As you know St. Patrick’s Day has come (and gone) yet again. I realize that not everyone celebrates this day as a major holiday, but in this home we celebrate all holidays! To kick off the festivities we spent an afternoon making leprechaun traps.

For our trap we used a canning jar which was decorated with foam letters, glitter and ribbon. What makes our jar a trap is that the top is fake!! So an unsuspecting leprechaun would climb to the top of the jar to get the gold and fall through.

After getting our trap set, we tucked ourselves in for a good night’s rest. Boy did we rest! We rested so much that we forgot to get up and play the leprechaun! OOPS!! I felt so awful when the kids woke up running through the house trying to see what damage the leprechaun has caused since he was obviously not trapped in our jar.

Thankfully I have an amazing friend (and her nephew) who were willing to prank my house while we attended a birthday party. (Thank you, Heather and Nolan!!) I’ve never missed a holiday before, and am so grateful to have friends willing to help out in a pinch! lol

This is the surprise we came home to after partying all afternoon.

Candy, glitter and green confetti everywhere!
Candy, glitter and green confetti everywhere!

Furniture in the wrong place and upside down!
Furniture in the wrong place and upside down!

A note on the bathroom mirror!
A note on the bathroom mirror!
Footprints on the wall!
Footprints on the wall!
Footprints, glitter and green toilet water. Oh, my!!
Footprints, glitter and green toilet water. Oh, my!!

I especially love that there was gold candy (Ferrero Rocher) left at each prank location. Of all the leprechaun mischief my absolute favorite were the St. Patrick’s Day facts that were written on our toilet paper roll. We kept pulling, and pulling, and pulling…. LOL

Didn’t Heather and Nolan do a great job!? After my initial feelings of guilt I am so grateful that Heather agreed to help me out this year, because it turns out a smart little girl was beginning to suspect that her parents were behind the mischief! BUT Now she “has proof, because we were with her. NOT at home pretending to be a leprechaun!” LOL

I hope you all had a magical St. Patrick’s Day! I know we won’t forget this one for a long time. Especially since we’ll probably still be finding glitter around the house for months to come!

Let me know how you celebrate St. Patrick’s day, and any suggestions you may have to help me top this next year!

 

 

Leave a Reply

