Watermelon Secrets

Hello my bloggy friends! It’s been a while since I’ve posted, but things have been really busy here. Not only are we back in school (and on a routine), but I’ve returned to the workforce. That’s right! I’m a working woman. I’m still being crafty (and taking pictures), but posting is very time-consuming and I just haven’t gotten around to it. But I will! Promise.

As you all know, one of our goals this summer was to eat A LOT of watermelon. So we did! Through our watermelon eating endeavours I discovered that there’s a secret to cutting watermelon. Ok, maybe not a secret. But after trial and error I discovered one of the easiest, best ways to cut watermelon; and today I want to share it with you!

The Supplies

I like to cut my watermelon over a towel, because it makes clean up a lot easier. I also use 2 of the big Tupperware bowls, because my watermelons are generally large. After laying out your towel cut your watermelon into quarters.

Now, take a quarter of your watermelon and slice it in straight lines, spacing them as small or big as you want your cubes (or slices). Cut slices down the whole watermelon, but DO NOT CUT THROUGH THE RIND!! You can’t really see the cuts in the picture, so I drew lines to help you with the visual.

If you want watermelon slices you can just cut along the rind and you’ll have beautiful slices! I prefer cubes, and if you do too then let’s keep going. Working with one surface of your quarter make slices running horizontally on one side. Now you’ve got squares! Do this to both sides of your quarter.

When you’re all done slicing grab your bowl and dump your cubes in. Now that the loose pieces are gone you can cut along the rind to get the rest of your lovely cubes out.

Repeat the process for the other quarters, put the knife in the sink and toss the towel in the wash (or laundry pile, in my case) and you’re done! Easy-peasy, right? I hope I taught you something new today and you enjoy eating your watermelon!

Leave a Reply

