Happy Easter!

I hope you’re all having a wonderful Easter Sunday! The weather is perfect here and it’s good to know that He is risen!! I wanted to share with you some of the fun being had here at Casa de Medeiros today.

We started out our morning with Bunny pancakes and they were delicious! So delicious, in fact, that they were gone before pictures could be taken… Oh, well, I suppose we can try again next year 🙂 After breakfast I asked my daughter to help me clean up and as we were putting away our silverware we discovered eggs and a clue!!

I cut the bunny from Doodlecharms cart at 5″ using shadow feature. All the bunnies were cut using various scraps of patterned paper. Using white cardstock I cut a regular bunny at 4.95″. The clues were typed up and printed on regular paper and glued to the bunnies. I used THESE for clues. You of course can just print out the printable, but I wanted cute bunnies. With each bunny clue was an egg for each child with various goodies inside. After following all eight clues we found our baskets on the front porch.

Dad was put in charge of purchasing easter gifts this year, and he went a little crazy. He claims that he forgot the bunny was not quite a Santa LOL. He did a great job and the kids were really excited and amazed that their Easter gifts “couldn’t even fit in a basket!” After church we plan on going to my in-laws’ house for dinner and more easter fun. I like to put together a little something for everyone who comes for dinner. This year I made little baskets with eggs, candy and a card with a new photo of us.

The bunny is a shape card I created using a tutorial I’d seen not to long ago (I’d give credit, but can’t remember where I saw it). I know that with my Gypsy I can weld shapes together to create shape cards, but I still haven’t gotten the hang of it. Anyway, here’s a quick and easy way of creating a shape card without a Gypsy.

You’ll need to use the shadow feature of your image and cut it twice (once for the front of your card and again for the inside). I used patterned paper foron DCWV Summer Days Stack for the front and white cardstock for the inside. Crayola marker was used on the inside of the card as well. A regular cut of my shape was cut and embellished using small google eyes, smudged pink glitter glue and Crayola marker. Take your “inside of the card” and fold it down along however you want the card to open.

It doesn’t really matter how you fold it down as long as the sillouette isn’t compromised. Put a dab of adhesive on the top of your fold, and lining up your two die cut pieces with the fold in the middle stick them together. I found that lining up from the bottom and outer edges worked best.

You now have a shape card! I used some photo corners to put a wallet size photo of us inside. Unfortunately, Hubby wasn’t available for the photo. It was taken at our church egg hunt last weekend and poor Hubby had to work. Despite some initial confusion and pouting it’s a good picture of the four of us.

Happy Easter, friends!

2 thoughts on “Happy Easter!

    • Thank you! You’re little rhymes were so much fun. My kids had a blast running around the house, and I love that you incorporated the real meaning of Easter on the last clue 🙂

Leave a Reply

