Duct Tape Pens

Today’s project was inspired by a girl in my daughter’s girl scout troop. Most of you probably know that Girl Scout Cookie season just ended (hope you got your cookies!). Part of cookie sales means site sales (selling cookies in front of the grocery store). During the last site sale one of our older troop girls had an adorable pen with a duct tape rose on top. When I asked her about it she said, “Oh, I make and sell them!” Surprised to hear her say this, I asked her how she learned. She said she learned from YouTube, and proceeded to tell me how to do it. As our site sale came to an end she then SHOWED me how to make one (she had a few orders to put together and let me watch). So now, my friends, I am going to show you!

After choosing the duct tape color for your “flower” you’ll need to cut the duct tape in 2″ pieces. I found that this was easier (and quicker) for me to do by sticking the duct tape to my glass mat and setting my mat on top of my fabric cutting mat. Using the grid to line up the duct tape I then used an exacto knife to cut the duct tape at 2″ intervals.

Once you have 30 squares (you can use more or less, depending on the size flower you want). With the square, sticky side facing up, you’ll need to take one corner and fold it over toward the corner kitty corner to it. You do DO NOT want to meet corners up! You’ll need a little “L” shaped sticky left.

It doesn’t really matter how much sticky there is. Just make sure theres a bit of an angle to it, like in the photo above. Now you’re going to grab on of the sticky edges alongside your triangle and fold it down to from a “V” shape, leaving a strip of sticky along the bottom.

You’ll need to do this to all 30 of your squares. These will be your “flower petals”. I simply lined my petals along the top of my cutting mat as I went along. After you’re done with your petals take your coordinating tape and cut it long enough to cover your pen with just a smidge hanging over. *Please excuse the switching of colors in the photos. In my project making excitement I stopped taking pictures. ๐Ÿ™‚

You’ll then want to flip your tape over and roll your pen along “hamburger way” to cover it.ย *Please excuse the switching of colors AGAIN in the photos… Good thing I was making a few of these!

Now it’s time to start putting on your “petals”! The first petal is the most important petal, so don’t mess it up!! LOL Just kidding… Sort of. You’ll want to line the sticky strip up with the tip of the pen, putting the pen centered unter the tip of the “petal”.

Wrap the sticky part of the petal around the pen, and your first “petal” is done! Lining the tip of the next petal directly across the first “petal” you’ll want to set it at an even height to the first “petal” and tape it down. Now turn your pen so that each petal tip is on the left and right and line the top of “petal” #3 between the first two “petals” and set it to an even height of the first two.

Keep wrapping petal around across from each other and filling in any “gaps” you think you see. Be sure to KEEP YOUR “PETAL” TIPS AT AN EVEN HEIGHT!! This will make your flower “bud”.

When you’ve placed all your petals on your flower you’ll need to cut another 2″ square from the same roll of duct tape as your pen, er, “stem”. From corner to corner cut an “X” into your 2″ square. This will leave you four triangle pieces.

Take one triangle piece of tape and place it on the bottom of your “flower” with the the bottom of the triangle on the pen.

Wrap the triangle piece round your “stem”. Do the same with triangle #2 directly across from triangle #1. Between trianlge #1 and #2 you’ll want to put triangle #3 (with triangle #4 across from #3). This will hide the “ugly” of the “flower” bottom while giving it ย a more real flower look ๐Ÿ™‚

From my pictures you can probably tell that I made more than one of these flower pens, right? Because I did. I made seven, if fact! Don’t ask why I made seven. I just did. Not for any particular reason…. Well maybe becasuse those were the flower colors I liked best?… Anyway, I made seven and put them in a gold basket I had out in ย the garage. I put a piece of styrofoam at the bottom of the basket and filled it with blue gems I had left over from a fish tank we once had. To make my basket a little fuller I added some fake flowers I’d purchased at the dollar store last year. For finishing touches I added a bow to the top of the basket and a tag cut from Storybook cart at 2″. *Sorry about the next picture. It was taken on my phone and the lighting wasn’t great.*

I added the cute sentiment to the tag using a thin black crayola marker, and regular crayola markers for the the red, blue and green. These were given to my daughter’s teacher, so the sentiment was fitting. These would also be a great gift for someone who works in an office!

I hope you’re all having a wonderful day ๐Ÿ™‚

P.s. I’m entering my project at FCCB who’s challenge this week is to use three flowers in your project.

10 thoughts on “Duct Tape Pens

  1. Those flowers are really inventive. Thanks for sharing the tutorial. Love the flower basket you created with them. Thanks for joining us this week at FCCB.
    Judy

  2. GORGEOUS job with your project!SO BEAUTIFUL,I LOVE your pretty flowers,Thank you for joining us over at FCCB this week!:)

  3. Neat idea….I’m always looking at that crazy duct tape for sell out there now wondering what to do with it. Thanks for linking up with FCCB-Holly ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

