Happy New Year!

I hope you all had a safe and wonderful weekend welcoming in the new year. Who’s excited about 2012? I know I am. There is so much that I am looking forward to getting accomplished this year. I’m not usually one for new years resolutions, but this year I’ve got plenty of ’em! On the top of my list is getting more organized and running a more efficient household. Which leads to today’s little project… Home Management Binder.

Ok, I lied. It wasn’t a “little” project. I’ve actually been working on getting it together over the last week. Before I go into the details of my household organizer let’s talk about the cover and how I spiffied up an old binder (I actually put the whole binder together using “old” stuff).

I used DCWV -dots, stipes and plaids stack- patterned paper and cut it down to fit into the binder covers and spine. Using my new gypsy (which I LOVE by the way!) and Cricut I welded the flower border from Storybook cart together at 2.78″ height. It was a little longer than the cover paper, so I trimmed it down a bit after cutting it. Using Yellow glitter paper from DCWV -Citrus Cardstock Stack- I cut an ‘M’ from Storybook cart at 4.27″ height. Using my super awesome Dynamo label maker I labeled the spine “Household Management” and now I’ve got myself a fancy-shmancy binder ready to be filled with goodies that will (hopefully) help keep me organized all year. TIme to gather my supplies and get to work!

First thing I did was make a list of exactly what I wanted this binder to manage. I went through lots of rough drafts and ideas, but I finally settled on these categories:

  • Schedules
  • Cleaning
  • Finances
  • Event Planning
  • Blogging
  • Contacts

I have two dividers left over from my set, but I couldn’t think of another category and I figure it doesn’t hurt to have extras anyway. Who knows, this binder may evolve over the next year and an extra divider may be handy 🙂 Are you ready to take a peek at my binder? Here we go!

For my “cover/intro page” I typed up this quick little reference sheet with all our must have info in case of emergency. I actually really like the idea of this page because it’ll work as a great quick reference for our babysitter and any one else who may find themselves in a “need to know” situation. Moving on to our first tab…

I created this tab with the idea of having a central place for all of our various activities. Since my daughter is involved in several after school activities and I am involved in several activities myself I often find myself checking (and double checking) our schedule often. I hate to admit it, but I’m also constantly picking up new schedule printouts from the various activities because I am always losing them! No more of this in 2012! I now have one permanent place for all schedules. Tab number two…

My least favorite part of any day. Cleaning. As a busy mama of 3 I often feel as though I am constantly trying to catch up with the housework. It’s never ending! A couple of months ago I ran across a “20 minutes a day” cleaning theory, and I was intrigued. For about 2 seconds. Then I went back to wiping the counters, emptying the dishwasher, switching the laundry, vacuuming the living room, oh and that clutter pile! I’ve got to get to that clutter pile!… See why this is so overwhelming? My brain literally thinks in run on sentences when it comes to the chores that need to get done. In keeping with my resolution I decided it was time to take action so I googled “cleaning routine” (or something like that) and I was flooded with printable schedules and break downs of cleaning chores. After lots (and lots) of browsing I decided I needed to make one of my own. I really wanted to find one I could just print, but I  needed “a little from this one and that one”, so I got to work on the laptop and came up with 3 printables.

I will use the monthly checklist to keep me in line with “the big picture”. Highlighted days are when the specified room will receive it’s “as needed cleaning”.

Obviously, I will be using this one on a daily basis. As I check things off hopefully it will decrease the feeling of “trying to catch up”.

These are checklists I made for the things that need to be done on a weekly basis and includes an “as needed” checklist to be followed once a month. Before we move on to tab three I want to say that I also think these will serve as great checklists for my kids (when they start helping on a regular basis). Next tab…

This one was actually really hard for me. I am NOT financially savvy. Actually, the only thing I am good at when it comes to money is spending it! LOL Ok, maybe that’s not completely true since I’ve somehow managed to make it to 27 with 3 kids (and at one point was a single mommy of 1). Regardless, I had no idea how to arrange this tab. All I knew was that if my binder was truly going to be a “household manager” it needed a finacial tab. Let’s face it, finances are a huge part of running a household. So I grabbed my surf board and hit the web… and I came across A bowl full of lemons and IHeart Organizing (I am now in love with both these blogs!) I decided to go ahead and order some financial printabables from Clean Mama. Moving on to tab number four…

Seems I am always tryng to plan or organize some sort of event so it seemed only fitting to include a tab in my binder. There are a lot of printables out there, but I decided to make one of my own. It’s a two sided page with a shopping list on the back and room for notes. Usually between my events enough time passes for my random post its to be thrown out or lost, leading to “Oh, I should have remembered that!”. That will no longer be the case because now I’ll be able to reference past events to help plan future events. Only two more tabs to go…

I am really excited about this tab because there is so much I want to do with this blog over the next year. I know that initailly I began this blog with the intention of sharing my crafting projects, but now that have become a little more familiar with blogging I want to share more than just crafts. Although crafting is my passion (and I will still share crafts with you) I’ve learned that I also have a bit of a knack for DIY projects. Combined with the fact that I’m a mommy of three and first time homeowner I am always working on something. So, I would like to incorporate more of my “everyday life” into my blog. With that in mind, I ‘d like to start blogging in a more organized way. Which led to this little section of my binder.

I put a calendar in here to help keep me focused and organized as to when I blog. Behind each month I will put one of these printouts I created for myself so that I can write down some of the fabulous ideas I have.

I also made another printout to help me plan some of my more “involved” projects. Now we’re ready for our final tab…

Part of being involved in several activities means several list of contacts. This is seperate from my personal contact list! Much like the “schedules” tab this is simply a place for me to give these lists a permanant home. I also printed my “master mailing label list” on regular paper so that I have quick acess to addresses for when I need to mail birthday/thank you/thinking of you/etc. cards. I hole punched menus from restaurants we order from on days I don’t get around to cooking and put them in this section. For business cards we need to keep I stuck a baseball card holder/sheet.

What do you think? I’m pretty impressed, and really hope that it helps me stay focused and on track. I don’t want to fall into the masses and forget all about my resolutions before January even ends! lol What are some of your resolutions? Is there something special you’re looking forward to in 2012? Let me know what some of your goals are for 2012. I’d love to hear them!

One thought on “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

