Day 3 of 12

I’m having so much fun doing the 12 Days of Christmas! If you haven’t checked it out already click on the button on the right and play along with Robin at mypinkstamper.com. She’s giving new challenges every day and AWESOME prizes! (You don’t have to participate in the challenges to win a prize, but you do have to comment on her posts.) Today’s challenge: Make a holiday themed CARD!

Not exactly holiday.... I was feelin' a little pink today!

In years past I would have gotten together a super cute basket and card for Dezerai to give her teacher before we go on Winter Break; but alas, this year is not quite the same as I now have TWO little ones at home! SOO, I made this card super last minute. (Like, while they were in school. On a minimum day to boot!) What I had envisioned was much more “holiday” but once I started pulling out my tools I was slapped by pink! LOL So I went with it…

The pink paper is card stock from my stack o’ random paper. The card measures 5 1/2″x61/2″ (random, I know). I printed “warm wishes” on white card stock off of my laptop in…. Can you guess?? PINK! I then cut the white card stock to 5″x6″. I ran the white cardstock thru the Cuttlebug using D’vine Swirls folder. (My paper was bigger than the folder so it looks a little funky, but it had to work due to my time crunch.) The pink mitten is cut with the Cricut from Simply Charmed cart at 4 3/4″. I cut out some white craft felt to put on the “cuff” of my mitten and stuck a pink jewel brad through it. Then I attached the mitten to the card using some dimensionals, and that’s it! I wrote a little note to her and put a packet of hot chocolate in there for her to “warm up” with as she relaxes over the winter break… I really would have liked to do more (as I’m not terribly happy with this card), but I ran out of time.

Like I said earlier, I usually give a little gift to go with our card but since I’ve hardly left home as of late (sick kids and LIFE have made me a bit of a hermit! lol) I had to rack my little brain for something I could give her that I already had on hand… Then it came to me! I made my daughter a red crochet beenie with a cute crocheted flower on it a few weeks ago, and several of the girls at the school office complimented me and asked if I was willing to sell some. My daughter’s teacher had chimed in to say that she would love one for her grand-daughter. So I whipped one up this afternoon. Now, please understand that when I say “whipped” I don’t mean “whipped” LOL. The perfectionist in me requires that I spend an usually long time on things others can “whip” together. Had I not spent so much time on the hat, I could have spent more time on the card! lol

Obviously I didn't give her THIS hat, but I gave her one just like it 🙂

I am happy to say that she loved both!! I think it really warmed her heart and made her feel special to know that I had spent time on something for her. She seemed genuinely touched and thanked me several times! Her reaction was so worth the time. That’s always the best part of giving!

Can’t wait to see what challenge Robin has for us tomorrow! Remember to click on her button to the right and join in on the fun.

Leave a Reply

