Day 2 of 12

Hello all! Today is day 2 of the 12 Days of Christmas from Robin at mypinkstamper.com. If you haven’t checked it out already click on the Button on the right and play along. She’s giving new challenges every day and AWESOME prizes! (You don’t have to participate in the challenges to win a prize, but you do have to comment on her posts.) Today’s challenge: Random Act of Kindness.  Make something for someone you don’t know yet to brighten their day! I’ll be entering my project in this week’s challenge at FCCB, too! (The challenge over there is to include ribbon in your project.)

I made 25 of these goodie bags and will be giving them to the kindergarten class at my daughter’s school. Since I don’t KNOW any of the kindergarteners I figure this counts as random kindness 🙂 I have to admit, I do know the kindergarten teacher though (She was my daughter’s kindergarten teacher.).

First thing to do is get your goodies in order. (I put mini holiday Snickers, Butterfingers, Peppermint Patties and Reese’s.) I purchased goodie bags at JoAnn’s earlier this week, but I wasn’t able to find them (story of my life!). SOO, I used some smaller bags that I COULD find, and even though they were smaller than I would have liked they held my goodies and still looked cute. The ones I ended up using were Wilton treat sacks and they measure 3″x4″. You can find these (and other sizes) in the baking section at JoAnn’s. After filling the sacks I set them aside and started to work on the toppers. I used The Paper Company Red Card Stock for the “base”. I cut the red to 3 1/2″x4″… I wanna tell you here that there is two ways to cut this measurement on the 8 1/2″x11″ card stock, but only ONE way will give you 6 squares. This maximizes your use of supplies, so cut smart!… After cutting the squares I scored them at 2″ along the 4″ edge (so there’s 2″ on both sides after scoring). Using the Cricut and Storybook cart, I cut out the marquee1 cut with shadow feature at 2 1/2″ on Design 9 12″x12″ patterned paper…. This is a stack of paper that comes with paper for Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas, but there isn’t a “name” for this stack… I then adhered this to the red “base” centered on the front.

This is what you should have so far.

Using green 1/4″ ribbon from Spool o’ Ribbon I lined it up along the bottom of the patterned cut out and used scotch tape on the backside of the “base” to attach the ribbon. Usually when I make goodie sacks I use the stapler to staple the base of the topper to the top of my goodie sacks, but for some reason I forgot that step this time so I just used my ATG gun and ran a stip of adhesive on both edges of my topper and just beside the fold line. Not sure if you can really see it in the next photo, but I tried to take a picture to help describe what I mean.

A little messy on the inside, but it all works out. I promise.

Now stick the top of your bag inside the topper and fold it over. I wasn’t sure how well just the ATG adhesive would hold, but it worked out great! Using different paper from the same Design 9 stack I cut 1″ “joy” from Create A Critter cut. There’s one cut with a snowflake cut out in the “o” and another cut with no cut out. I used the pattered paper for the cut with the cut out, and more red card stock for the “joy” WITHOUT the cut out. Using some dimensionals I attached “joy” to the center of the topper. Last step was to use some green glitter glue from Studio G to fill in the snowflake cut out in “joy”. TA-DA! All done 🙂

I’m sure the little kindergarteners will love them since they’re filled with candy, and I can’t wait to drop them off in their classroom in the morning. Until next time, friends, I hope you’re having a great day!

12 thoughts on “Day 2 of 12

  1. […] I used red, green and brown card stock. The tree is cut from paper doll dress up. I cut it twice, once in brown and again in gree so that I could have a brown stump. I added green stickles to my tree and a red star jewel for the top. The background paper is from DCWV Christmas Combo Stack. I tied some brown twine on the card and stamped it with My Pink Stamper Darkest Night Ink (which I LOVE, btw!) and a stamp from a set I won from My Craft Spot for THIS project. […]

Leave a Reply

