Happy Birthday, Anna!

Today is my niece’s second birthday! I can’t believe that this time 2 years ago she surprised us with an early arrival and her cousin (my son) followed shortly after… I’ve even had ANOTHER baby since then!!…Where does the time go??

She is having an Abby Cadabby birthday party and I’m super bummed I couldn’t go! (Baby and I have a bad cold and are severely congested.) I was really looking forward to seeing her in the cute outfit I helped make, but I have to settle for a picture that my sister-in-law sent.

Abby Cadabby Birthday Girl

Seeing the picture makes me even more sad I couldn’t be there, but she’s adorable in her little outfit!! I’m so glad my sister-in-law asked me to help make her Abby outfit. It was fun figuring out how to make it. You can make the tutu following these Tutu Instructions. Now I’ll show you how to make the wand and hair poofs!

What You’ll Need:
  • wooden dowels (you can find this in the wood section of the craft store for about .99¢)
  • 1/4″ and 1″ ribbon
  • about 1/3 yd of tulle… Or more or less depending on how “poofy” you want your poofs
  • cardboard (I used cereal boxes)
  • felt
  • hair clip (style of your choosing)
  • needle & thread
  • scissors
  • hot glue gun

First thing to do is trace a circle on your cardboard. (I turned  a regular bowl upside down and traced it.) Then draw a smaller cirlce inside of it. (Mine had about 4″ between the inner circle and outer circle.) Now cut your circles. Do this step twice.

This is what you'll get after you cut your circles.

Cut a piece of 1/4″ ribbon loop it over itself… Like you’re tieing a knot, but DON’T pull it tight! Lay it over one of your circles and place the other circle on top of it.

Your ribbon before it get sandwiched

For this step I used strips of tulle left over from the matching tutu, but you could just cut srips of tulle to whatever length and 3″. Starting at the outside of your circle  begin to wrap your tulle going around the cardboard and through the center. Keep wrapping as much tulle as you want (space out your colors if using more than one).

Fully wrapped cardboard circle

Seperate your cardboard pieces as much as you can and cut your tulle running the scissors between the two circles. As soon as you can see them fish out the ends of the 1/4″ ribbon you sandwiched and try to pull tight as you cut the tulle. Once all your tulle is cut tie  your ribbon as firmly as possible and DO NOT remove the cardboard circles.

A little visual aid for where to cut your tulle
DO NOT remove the cardboard!

Now set your tulle poof aside and begin wrapping a wooden dowel in 1″ ribbon. I forgot to take pictures of this step, but the trick is to cut the end of your ribbon at angle and wrap it flat around the dowel. There will be a gap where you can see the dowel, so when you get to the end cut another angle and glue it to the dowel. In the “in between space” wrap another strand of ribbon using the same slanted angle technique. When your dowel is covered take pieces of 1/4″ ribbon and hot glue it to the top of the dowel using  a criss-ccross pattern. Make the 1/4″ whatever lenght you want, but I did mine about half way down the wooden dowel.

The top of the wooden dowel

Now grab your poof (with cardboard still attached) and seperate your cardboard just enough for you to be able to apply a generous dose of hot glue. Attach the wodden dowel to the hot glue and hold it until it dries. I used a lot of hot glue, so I had to hold it for a while.

When it’s all dry remove the cardboard and you’ve got yourself a tulle wand!… You may have to do a little “poofing” and trimming of stray pieces to give it a “round” look.

For the hair poofs you do the same thing (with the circles and the tulle) but with smaller circles. (Mine measured about 2″ from inner circle to outer circle.) Then take a piece of felt and cut another circle. Attach the piece of felt to a hair clip of your choosing, and this time instead of attaching a wooden dowel to your poofs attach the piece of felt with hair clip… You’ve now got tulle hair clips!

As a gift we gave Anna some alphabet bean bags. You can check out my post for those HERE. I added some extra letters so that she can spell her name, and we also gave her a Sit ‘n’ Spin just because we knew she’d like it 🙂

Pretty patterned fabric with a little bit of glitter in it!

Being the person I am, I procrastinated on making her a card and got sick before I had time to make it for her party. Luckily I had a card I’d made a while ago. I don’t really remember the exactl recipe, but I know I used Create A Critter and Storybook cart. It’s not as girly as I would have liked it, but I know she likes frogs so I figured it worked.

Hoppy Birthday

I really hope she had a great day, and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I can join the fun next year!

Leave a Reply

