Happy Thanksgiving!

I hope you all had wonderful Thanksgiving you were able to share with friends and loved ones. My heart was so full of love and joy today. I am one blessed girl! I have so very many things to be thankful for! I won’t bore with my HUGE, LONG list but I’ll sum it up as much as I can…

First, and foremost, I am thankful for my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ who blesses me everyday and gives me the strength I need to be a good mother, loving wife and faithful friend. Without Him I don’t think I’d be able to juggle the many hats I wear! I am thankful for my beautiful and healthy children. They are the light of my life and make every day worth it. I am thankful for my hardworking, loving and dedicated husband. Like most couples we face challenges along the way and I am blessed that through it all my husband chooses to face these challenges alongside me. I am thankful for my family. My family has loved me through it all and continues to be a source of support and a fountain of unfailing love. I am thankful for my in-laws. I love getting to know them more and more and can’t imagine having married into a better family. Last, but certainly not least, I am thankful for my friends. Exactly two months ago today I lost one of my very best friends and I am grateful to have been reminded that despite this loss I am surrounded by friends who care deeply for me and my family…. Okay, I think that’s about the bulk of it.

On to the fun stuff! I am so grateful that my family is willing to drive through holiday traffic so the children and I can stay cozy at home. Although, between you and I, I think they just like being able to leave and not worrying about having company over! LOL

My brother and his girlfriend
Grandma and James

This year I made a turkey all by myself! It was my first time 🙂 I’ve make turkey before but have always taken more of an “assistant” role. Being the resourceful gal that I am I googled some recipes and chose to go with Alton’s recipe from Food Network. (You can go HERE for the recipe and directions.) It turned out prefectly and was sooo yummy!

Thanksgiving feast!

We all pitched in a little and had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Dezerai even made us all adorable “Oreo Turkey Treats”. They were super cute and she loved eating the treats making them.

A girl hard at work...
Oreo Turkey Treats!

Aren’t they the most adorable thing you’ve ever seen!?! They’re super quick and an easy enough. To make these little guys you’ll need:

  • Oreo cookies
  • Malt balls (big ones, not the little ones in the box)
  • Chocolate frosting
  • Red Hots
  • Candy corn
  • Mike & Ikes (optional)

First, you’ll have to seperate your cookies. (I found that using a butter knife helped.) Then you’ll have to take your frosting and frost the side that doesn’t have the white on it. Then you’ll stick the frosted cookie onto the “white stuff” toward the back (so that it makes an “L” shape). Now take a malt ball and put a dab of chocolate frosting on the bottom and stick it in the middle of your “white stuff”, barely kissing the back of your “L”. Take 3 candy corn and stick them on the frosted cookie to create turkey feathers. Stick 2 Mike & Ikes in between the candy corn. Last thing to do is put a dap of chocolate frosting on a red hot and stick it to the malt ball and there you have it!

Overall this was one of the best Thanksgivings and I loved every minute of it! My brother’s girlfriend even got a cute picture of me with the baby!! It’s very rare for me to have pictures of me with the kids as I’m usually the photographer. I’ve even joked that going through our photo albums one might think my husband is raising three kids by himself! LOL

Last thing to do was take a few pictures of the kids…

A Christmas card picture??

Again, I hope your all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!! Until next time friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

