Tree Time Challenge

It’s been FOREVER since I’ve blogged! I haven’t been able to do much crafting. (To be honest I haven’t really been inspired either.) I really want to get back into it and start crafting though. It’s such a stress reliever for me!! I started doing some googling for inspiration and came across a site (I came across many, in fact) that does weekly challenges and thought to myself, “I can do that!” So the first challenge I’ve chosen to be apart of is “Tree Time: Create a project using any type of tree” over at Fantabulous Cricut Challenge Blog . I’m going to send the card to my best friend who lives 2 hours away. I hope it brings a smile to her face and lets her know how special she is to me!

I chose to make a 5×7 card from plain white card stock. I measured out four squares on the front of the card at 2 inches each and used my Xacto knife to cut out each square. To incorporate the tree theme I chose to use my Simply Charmed cricut cartride. I cut out the 4 trees (one to represent each season) at 1.5 inches. Knowing the trees would be small I dug through my “scraps pile” and used pieces of paper left over from other projects.  I assembled the trees and used diamond Stickles on the “winter” tree. I dug through my “scraps pile” again for the background of each tree, and embossed the scraps using my Cuttlebug Swiss Dots folder. I placed each tree in it’s square using Scotch Pop-Up Foam Squares. Lastly, I used a black BIC Mark-It and my best cursive to write “through the year…” on the front. The inside says “I”m blessed to have a friend like you.”

Not sure if you can see to well, but it has a little dimension because of the foam squares.

7 thoughts on “Tree Time Challenge

  1. I love the idea of friendship throughout the year and your represented that so well. Welcome back to blogging and for joining us at FCCB. Be sure to check out our daily inspirations, too.
    Hugs,

  2. What beautiful handwriting! I would never write on the front of my cards and I think my handwriting is quite impressive. I started playing along at FCCB too when I was ready to get back into some serious crafting.

    Natasha

Leave a Reply

